In September 2005, the Institute for Municipal Public Safety of Southern Africa (IMPS-SA) evolved from the Institute for Municipal Law Enforcement of Southern Africa (IMLE) developed in 1999. Clearly, the dawn of IMPS-SA achieved a giant futuristic leap for the broader profession through its development into an institute which now unequivocally stands for all involved in the sphere of public safety in Southern Africa – metropolitan police, city police, municipal policing which includes law enforcement, security, safety and protection within local government.

It is in line with government’s policy of regional co-operation, and membership is also extended to private security companies effecting contract work for local authorities.

IMPS-SA is not a new organisation. Its predecessors, IMLE and POSV, were created to provide for the needs of the time. In September 2005, the Institute for Municipal Public Safety of Southern Africa (IMPS-SA) evolved from the Institute for Municipal Law Enforcement of Southern Africa (IMLE) developed in 1999.


IMLE, before IMPS-SA, was born from the Local Authority Security Association of South Africa (POSV) originally established in 1986. POSV is the acronym for Plaaslike Owerheids Sekuriteits Vereniging. IMLE, established August 1999, provided for a drastic change in vision and scope of the institute at that time, in order to deal in a more coherent multifaceted concept of law enforcement and municipal security as it affected local authorities.


IMPS-SA has as main objectives to:

  • establish Municipal Public Safety (City Police, Municipal Law Enforcement and Municipal Security services) within the local sphere of government as a profession in its own right;
  • publicise and promote the image of the public safety profession;
  • undertake research, convene conferences, symposia and seminars on matters and problems of interest to the members of the Institute, their employers and the public; and
  • through recognised academic institutions develop and/or arrange providing of training for the profession.


The National Council consists of 15 members, a moderator, the outgoing president, chairpersons of regional councils and an Adviser on professional and related matters. The adviser is a recognised academic who also manages the institute’s research initiatives. National councillors are tasked into various portfolios such as training, editorial & marketing and communication and protocol, etc. Similar structures are deployed within regional councils which manage their own affairs in line with delegations contained in the constitution of the institute.

National councillors elect an executive committee, consisting of 5 members. EXCO determines and manages operational policy of the institute and is supported by a part-time executive officer who manages the affairs of IMPS-SA together with an administrator.


IMPS-SA is a national organisation and National Councillors are elected by and from its members. Elections are held bi-annually. Read more about the Councillors and Administrators


Highly respected Political-will Councillors are nominated by the National Councillors appointed. Political-Will Councillors elected at the 2017 IMPS-SA Conference, pertain:

  • Hon MP Dumisani Ximbi
  • Hon MP Moses Mhlanga
  • Cllr Adele Hendricks – Enoch Mgijima Municipality; Queenstown
  • Cllr Cassius Machimana – Greater Tzaneen Municipality
  • Cllr EL Maraba – MMC: Polokwane Local Municipality
  • Cllr Victor Morris – MMC: Matjhabeng Municipality
  • Cllr Mbongeni Nkungu – OR Tambo District Municipality


IMPS-SA is a non-profit organisation which depends upon membership fees, conference fees, exhibitions at conferences and sponsorships to finance its activities.